Pension trustee evidence room. Record date . Evidence: one filing, EN1.

Existing Enron exposure: the call is EXIT

This page reconciles reported earnings with reported operating cash and lists every related party item and debt-like obligation visible in the excerpts of EN1. Figures are USD millions unless stated. Nothing here relies on events after the record date.

Trustee call

EXIT

Exit the existing Enron exposure in an orderly way and commit no new capital until the documents listed under unknowns establish what this packet leaves open.

A prudence judgement on the evidence in hand. It is not a forecast of Enron's share price, credit or results.

Decision rule

Keep an existing position only if the filing in hand establishes (a) that reported operating cash is largely recurring and (b) that material revenue recognized from a related party is backed by a counterparty with capacity independent of Enron. EN1 as excerpted establishes neither.

Net income 2000979
Operating cash 20004,779
Less working capital and asset sale proceeds1,172
Also less unitemized other59
EN1 F-4 and F-6, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Most consequential disclosed uncertainty

Related party hedge: counterparty capacity is not disclosed

Revenue recognized on derivatives with the Entities: 500 million. Notional of those derivatives: 2,100 million. Special distribution notes receivable from the Entities: 1,200 million. Enron shares contributed: 3.7 million restricted shares plus a right to up to 18.0 million shares in March 2003, subject to conditions.

These are four different kinds of amount and are not added. The excerpt gives no balance sheet for the Entities, so their capacity to pay Enron is unknown.

In 2000 and 1999, Enron entered into transactions with limited partnerships (the Related Party) whose general partner's managing member is a senior officer of Enron.
EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Why: falsifiable statements

Each statement can be checked against EN1. If one fails, the call should be re-examined.

  1. T1. 2000 operating cash of 4,779 exceeds net income of 979 by 3,800. Falsified if: The F-6 values for 2000 differ from these, or the subtraction is wrong.
  2. T2. Working capital (1,769) and merchant asset sale proceeds (1,838) together supply 3,607 of the 2000 operating cash; the excerpt shows neither as recurring, and the working capital line was (1,000) in 1999. Falsified if: The complete F-6 and MD&A show these inflows to be recurring operating cash.
  3. T3. Removing those two lines leaves 1,172 of 2000 operating cash, and removing the unitemized other operating line as well leaves 59. Read with care: the three merchant asset lines net to 439, because purchases and unrealized gains offset the sale proceeds. Falsified if: The other operating line is itemized and shown to be recurring.
  4. T4. Approximately 500 million of 2000 revenue came from derivatives with entities whose general partner's managing member is a senior officer of Enron, and the excerpt gives no financial statements for those entities. Falsified if: The 10-K elsewhere discloses the Entities' assets, liabilities and capacity to pay.
  5. T5. Contingent guarantees are disclosed in four classes (556, 264, 1,863 and 386 million) with overlap not stated, so no single total is supportable. Falsified if: A guarantee schedule shows the classes are distinct and collateral covers them.

What would turn the call to HOLD

Conditions

Earnings to operating cash bridge, 2000

Operating cash is traced line by line from net income. The shown lines do not add to the reported total because the excerpt omits some rows; the difference is shown as a residual, not assigned to any line.

Fiscal 2000, USD millions, EN1 F-6
LineUSD mWhat it isRecurring? per excerpt
Net income979Starting pointReported
Depreciation, depletion and amortization855Non-cash add-backNon-cash; recurs with the asset base
Impairment of long-lived assets (including equity investments)326Non-cash add-backNon-cash; not shown to recur
Changes in components of working capital1,769Timing of payables, receivables and other working capitalTiming; was (1,000) in 1999
Net assets from price risk management activities(763)Earnings recognized as trading assets, not yet cashNon-cash earnings removed
Realized gains on sales(104)Merchant asset gains removed from earningsGains removed; cash sits in proceeds
Proceeds from sales1,838Cash from selling merchant assets, classified as operatingAsset sales; not shown to recur
Additions and unrealized gains(1,295)Merchant asset purchases and unrealized gainsReinvestment and unrealized gains
Other operating activities1,113Not itemized in the excerptUnknown composition
Rows omitted from the excerpt (residual)61Derived: reported total less shown linesUnknown composition
Net cash provided by operating activities4,779Reported totalMixed; see lines above

MD&A states operating cash increased by 3,551 million in 2000; the F-6 totals give 4,779 less 1,228, which is 3,551. The two agree.

Net cash provided by operating activities increased $3,551 million in 2000, primarily reflecting decreases in working capital, positive operating results and a receipt of cash associated with the assumption of a contractual obligation.
EN1 MD&A, liquidity and capital resources, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Three reported years

Reconciliation by year, USD millions, EN1 F-4 and F-6
Line200019991998
Net income979893703
Operating cash, reported4,7791,2281,640
Operating cash less net income3,800335937
Residual from rows omitted in excerpt61(389)5
Operating cash less working capital and asset sale proceeds1,17211439
Operating cash less capital expenditures2,398(1,135)(265)
Working capital line1,769(1,000)(233)

Operating cash less capital expenditures is shown only as a reference line. Neither it nor reported operating cash is a measure of recurring distributable cash.

EN1 F-4 and F-6, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Net income and operating cash by reported year

Net income and operating cash by reported year, USD millionsBars start at zero. 2000: net income 979, operating cash 4,779. 1999: 893 and 1,228. 1998: 703 and 1,640. Source EN1.Net incomeOperating cash01,0002,0003,0004,0005,0002000979 EN1 F-44,779 EN1 F-61999893 EN1 F-41,228 EN1 F-61998703 EN1 F-41,640 EN1 F-6USD millions, zero baselineSource EN1: Form 10-K filed 2001-04-02
Both series in USD millions on one zero-based scale. The 2000 gap of 3,800 is the bridge above.
EN1 F-4 and F-6, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Filing language and what it means for a ledger line

Every clause below is quoted from EN1 with its implication for one ledger line. With scripting on, a reading desk lets you set any clause beside its line; the full list stays here either way.

  1. MD&A cash increase

    Net cash provided by operating activities increased $3,551 million in 2000, primarily reflecting decreases in working capital, positive operating results and a receipt of cash associated with the assumption of a contractual obligation.

    Implication for L10, Cash received for assuming a contractual obligation (amount unknown): MD&A names working capital and a cash receipt for assuming an obligation as drivers of the 3,551 increase. Cash received for taking on an obligation is paid for by later performance or payment, so that part of 4,779 is not recurring distributable cash. Its amount is not disclosed.

    EN1 MD&A, liquidity and capital resources, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  2. Who the counterparty is

    In 2000 and 1999, Enron entered into transactions with limited partnerships (the Related Party) whose general partner's managing member is a senior officer of Enron.

    Implication for L18, Revenue recognized on derivatives with the Entities (500 million): The Entities' general partner is managed by a senior officer of Enron, named nowhere in the excerpt. Management's view that terms were reasonable is the only price evidence in this packet; no third party price test is shown.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  3. What funds the Entities

    3.7 million restricted shares of outstanding Enron common stock and the right to receive up to 18.0 million shares of outstanding Enron common stock in March 2003 (subject to certain conditions)

    Implication for L13, Enron common stock contributed and right to receive shares (amount unknown): Enron's own shares and a share right are among the assets backing counterparties that owe Enron. The dollar value of that stock is not stated, so the trustee cannot tell how far the Entities' capacity rests on Enron's share price.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  4. Notes receivable

    a special distribution from the Entities in the form of $1.2 billion in notes receivable, subject to changes in the principal for amounts payable by Enron in connection with the execution of additional derivative instruments.

    Implication for L16, Special distribution notes receivable from the Entities (1,200 million): A 1.2 billion receivable whose principal moves with what Enron owes on new derivatives. It is a claim on the Entities, not cash, and its year-end balance is not stated.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  5. Derivative revenue

    Enron recognized revenues of approximately $500 million related to the subsequent change in the market value of these derivatives, which offset market value changes of certain merchant investments and price risk management activities.

    Implication for L18, Revenue recognized on derivatives with the Entities (500 million): Approximately 500 million of revenue was recognized from value changes on derivatives with the Entities. Recognized revenue is not cash received, and the 2.1 billion notional is a reference amount, not money owed.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  6. Zero basis notes

    $309 million in notes receivable, of which $259 million is recorded at Enron's carryover basis of zero

    Implication for L15, Notes receivable from the Entities (309 million): Of 309 million of notes received, 259 million carries a zero book basis, so the face amount overstates what is on Enron's books by an amount the excerpt only partly states.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  7. Guarantees of others

    In addition, Enron is a guarantor on certain liabilities of unconsolidated equity affiliates and other companies totaling approximately $1,863 million at December 31, 2000, including $538 million related to EOTT trade obligations.

    Implication for L08, Guarantees of liabilities of unconsolidated equity affiliates and other companies (1,863 million): Approximately 1,863 million of other companies' liabilities is guaranteed. This is contingent, not funded debt, and the excerpt does not say which liabilities or how they overlap other guarantees.

    EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  8. Management on guarantees

    Management does not consider it likely that Enron would be required to perform or otherwise incur any losses associated with the above guarantees.

    Implication for L08, Guarantees of liabilities of unconsolidated equity affiliates and other companies (1,863 million): This is management's likelihood judgement, not evidence about the guaranteed parties' finances. It reduces nothing in the ledger amounts.

    EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  9. Transportation payments

    the estimated aggregate amounts of such required future payments were $91 million, $88 million, $89 million, $85 million and $77 million for 2001 through 2005, respectively, and $447 million for later years.

    Implication for L04, Firm transportation obligations (877 million): 877 million of undiscounted future payments. This is a commitment schedule, not reported debt, and is not discounted to present value.

    EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
  10. Dark fiber sale

    Enron sold a portion of its dark fiber inventory to the Related Party in exchange for $30 million cash and a $70 million note receivable that was subsequently repaid. Enron recognized gross margin of $67 million on the sale.

    Implication for L19, Dark fiber sale to the Related Party (67 million): 67 million of gross margin on a sale to the Related Party. The note was stated as repaid, but the source of the repayment cash is not given.

    EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Exposure and uncertainty ledger

One row per item visible in the excerpts. Reported debt, undiscounted commitments, contingent guarantees, derivative notional, receivables and recognized revenue are different kinds of amount. Only same-class reported debt is subtotalled: short-term plus long-term debt at 2000-12-31 is 10,229 million (1999: 8,152). No other total is drawn.

Ledger, USD millions unless stated
ItemClassPeriodAmountOverlap and conditionsDoes not establishSource
L01 Short-term debtReported debt on the balance sheetAt 2000-12-311,6791999-12-31: 1,001Same class as L02, so the two may be added (subtotal shown). Whether L11 or L12 notes are inside this caption is not stated.Maturity dates, interest cost, covenants or any acceleration terms; average balance during the year.EN1 Balance sheet, F-5, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L02 Long-term debtReported debt on the balance sheetAt 2000-12-318,5501999-12-31: 7,151Same class as L01. Whether L11 or L12 notes are inside this caption is not stated.Maturity ladder, covenants, rating-linked terms or debt held in unconsolidated entities.EN1 Balance sheet, F-5, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L03 Company-obligated preferred securities of subsidiariesDebt-like financing reported outside the debt captionsAt 2000-12-319041999-12-31: 1,000Not added to L01 and L02: different balance sheet class with terms not given in the excerpt.Dividend rate, redemption terms, or whether payments can be deferred.EN1 Balance sheet, F-5, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L04 Firm transportation obligationsUndiscounted future minimum payments, not reported debtPayments due 2001 to 2005 and later, estimated at 2000-12-318772001: 91; 2002: 88; 2003: 89; 2004: 85; 2005: 77; later: 447Payable to joint venture and other pipelines; some are affiliates. Undiscounted, so not comparable with balance sheet debt.Present value, the share owed to affiliates, or whether Enron uses the capacity it pays for.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L05 Operating lease and related commitmentsUndiscounted future minimum payments, not reported debtPayments due 2001 to 2005 and later, at 2000-12-317642001: 123; 2002: 98; 2003: 69; 2004: 66; 2005: 49; later: 359Text says the commitments relate to leases that include residual value guarantees; overlap with L06 is not stated.Present value, whether residual guarantees are inside these amounts, or renewal and purchase option costs.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L06 Guarantees under the leasesContingent guarantee, off the balance sheet in this excerptAt 2000-12-31556Payable only if a guarantee is called. May overlap L05 and L09; overlap not stated.Probability of payment, asset values backing the residuals, or timing.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L07 Letter of credit guarantees for unconsolidated equity affiliatesContingent guarantee, off the balance sheet in this excerptOutstanding at 2000-12-31264EOTT Energy Partners: 103Includes the EOTT amount; EOTT items are stated to be secured by EOTT assets.Value of EOTT collateral, other beneficiaries, or likelihood of a draw.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L08 Guarantees of liabilities of unconsolidated equity affiliates and other companiesContingent guarantee, off the balance sheet in this excerptAt 2000-12-31approx. 1,863EOTT trade obligations: 538Largest disclosed guarantee class. Overlap with L06, L07 and L09 is not stated, so they are not added together.Which companies, which liabilities, maturities, collateral other than EOTT, or likelihood of payment.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L09 Guaranteed lease obligations indemnified by an investment grade companyContingent guarantee with indemnity, off the balance sheet in this excerptAt 2000-12-31386Indemnified by an unnamed company described as Investment Grade. Overlap with L06 not stated.Identity or current credit of the indemnifying company, or enforceability of the indemnity.EN1 Note 15, Commitments, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L10 Cash received for assuming a contractual obligationOperating cash inflow tied to an assumed obligationFiscal 2000Unknown: not disclosedNamed by MD&A as a driver of the 2000 operating cash increase; which F-6 line holds it is not stated.Amount, counterparty, what Enron must later pay or perform, or whether a liability was recorded.EN1 MD&A, liquidity and capital resources, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L11 Enron notes payable contributed to the EntitiesEnron note payable issued to related party entitiesContributed in 2000150Part of the approximately 1.2 billion in contributed assets (L14). Whether included in L01 or L02 is not stated.Maturity, interest, or whether it remains outstanding at 2000-12-31.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L12 Note payable transferred to the EntitiesNote payable, obligor not statedTransferred in 200050Part of the approximately 309 million in transferred assets.Who owes this note, its terms, or whether it is in reported debt.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L13 Enron common stock contributed and right to receive sharesEnron's own shares, counted in shares not dollarsContributed in 2000; share right in March 2003, subject to conditionsUSD unknown. 3.7 million restricted shares; right to up to 18.0 million sharesPart of L14. The share right is stated as subject to certain conditions that the excerpt does not list.Dollar value assigned, the conditions, or how the Entities' value moves with the Enron share price.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L14 Assets contributed to the EntitiesValuation of assets given up, approximateContributed in 2000approx. 1,200Includes L11 and L13. Valued by Enron; method not stated.How the valuation was made or what share is Enron stock.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L15 Notes receivable from the EntitiesReceivable from related party entitiesReceived in 2000309recorded at carryover basis of zero: 259Face amount differs from book amount; 259 million of it carries a zero basis.Book value of the remaining 50 million, collectibility, or maturity.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L16 Special distribution notes receivable from the EntitiesReceivable from related party entitiesReceived in 2000; principal subject to changeapprox. 1,200reduction for derivative premiums owed: 36Principal changes with amounts Enron owes on new derivatives; reduced by 36 million for premiums. Repayment source is the Entities, whose assets include Enron stock (L13).Year-end balance, where it sits in Enron's statements, or the Entities' capacity to pay.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L17 Derivatives with the Entities, notionalDerivative notional: a reference amount, not cash and not debtEntered in 2000approx. 2,100Hedges certain merchant investments and other assets. Fair value and settlement terms not given.Fair value, amount owed either way, or the Entities' ability to settle.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L18 Revenue recognized on derivatives with the EntitiesRecognized revenue from market value change, not stated as cashFiscal 2000approx. 500Offsets value changes in merchant investments and price risk management activities. Pre-tax revenue, so not a share of 979 net income.Cash received, the Entities' capacity to pay, or whether it recurs.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR
L19 Dark fiber sale to the Related PartyRecognized gross margin on a related party saleFiscal 200067cash at sale: 30; note receivable, stated as subsequently repaid: 70Consideration was 30 million cash plus a 70 million note the filing says was later repaid.Date of repayment, source of the repayment cash, or a price test against unrelated buyers.EN1 Note 16, Related Party Transactions, SEC EDGAR, filed . Form 10-K on SEC EDGAR

Unknown inputs and documents to request before committing capital

Unknown inputWhy it mattersDocument to request
U1. Rows omitted from the F-6 excerptShown lines leave a residual of 61 (2000), -389 (1999) and 5 (1998) against reported operating cash.The complete consolidated statement of cash flows (F-6) with every operating row.
U2. Composition of 'Other operating activities' (1,113 in 2000) and the amount of cash received for assuming a contractual obligationTogether with working capital, these decide how much of 4,779 could recur.The supporting schedule for other operating activities and the contract under which Enron assumed the obligation, with its payment terms.
U3. Financial capacity of the Entities that owe Enron notes receivable and derivative settlementsApproximately 500 million of 2000 revenue and 1.2 billion of notes receivable depend on these counterparties.Audited financial statements of the Related Party and the Entities, the derivative agreements, and the conditions on the March 2003 share right.
U4. Overlap among guarantee classes and between guarantees and lease commitmentsWithout overlap data the guarantees cannot be added, and the trustee cannot size contingent claims.A guarantee schedule by beneficiary, maturity, collateral and any acceleration or rating-linked terms.
U5. Whether the 150 million and 50 million notes payable are inside reported debtDetermines whether related party notes are already counted in 10,229 of reported debt.The full debt footnote with an instrument-level listing.
U6. Governance of the Related Party transactionsThe counterparty's general partner is managed by an unnamed senior officer of Enron; management's statement on reasonableness is the only price evidence here.Board and audit committee minutes approving the transactions, and disclosure of the officer's economic interest in the Related Party.
U7. Accounting basis for the Entities in Enron's statementsThe excerpt does not describe how the Entities are treated in consolidation; this record makes no judgement on that.The auditor's accounting memorandum for the Entities and the related party transactions.

Not established by this record

The excerpts name no individual. The only person referenced is unnamed; this record does not identify that person.

Sources