Evidence room, frozen at the prospectus dated 2007-03-09
Did filed income cover the senior mortgage interest?
Historical education from filed documents only. Not investment or legal advice, and not a refinancing cash-needed calculation. Every filed number carries a source tag; anything the documents do not show is marked UNKNOWN.
Income-to-interest bridge
observed Last filed year, 2006
The filed 1.71x ratio is a forecast ratio: footnote (2) says underwritten NOI and DSCR rely on cash flows for 2011, a future year when the prospectus was filed, including conversion to 6,397 deregulated units by January 1, 2011 ST1. Dividing underwritten NOI by the whole loan times the coupon gives 1.74x, which is not the same as the filed 1.71x (difference 0.03x). This page keeps them separate; how the filing computed its ratio is UNKNOWN from this extract.
Just to cover senior interest at 1.00x, NOI would need to reach $193,020,000, which is 71.97% above 2006 NOI, or 11.45% per year over 5 years.
NOI by year: observations versus the forecast
Complete numeric rows
| Year | NOI | Senior interest | Coverage | Change vs prior year | NOI / price | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2004 observed | $92,102,906 | $193,020,000 | 0.48x | first filed year | 1.71% | ST1 ST2 |
| 2005 observed | $98,862,497 | $193,020,000 | 0.51x | $6,759,591 (7.34%) | 1.83% | ST1 ST2 |
| 2006 observed | $112,242,474 | $193,020,000 | 0.58x | $13,379,977 (13.53%) | 2.08% | ST1 ST2 |
| 2011 forecast | $336,156,380 | $193,020,000 | proxy 1.74x; filed 1.71x | 199.49% over 5 years from 2006 | 6.23% | ST1 ST2 |
Debt layers, never added twice
| Layer | Trust share of senior | Whole senior mortgage | Separate mezzanine | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Principal | $800,000,000 (26.67% of whole; inside the whole loan) | $3,000,000,000 at 6.4340%, interest only | $1,400,000,000 at 6.277% (rate never applied to the mortgage) | ST1 |
| Share of price | not added | 55.56% | senior plus mezzanine 81.48% | ST1 ST2 |
| Coverage | not a coverage basis | 2006: 0.58x | mezzanine and all-in: UNKNOWN | ST1 |
Hypothetical growth control
Choose an assumed annual NOI growth rate from 2006 to 2011. This is arithmetic on a reader-chosen assumption, not a forecast and not a probability. The filed scenario and the observed 2006 baseline below do not move.
- Hypothetical rate
- Hypothetical 2011 NOI
- Senior coverage
- Versus interest
- Versus filed NOI
Filed scenario (fixed)
Observed 2006 baseline (fixed)
- 2006 NOI ST1
- $112,242,474
- Coverage
- 0.58x
- Growth to reach 1.00x
- 11.45% per year
Why occupancy and average rent cannot rebuild collections
11,227 filed units x 98.3% occupancy x $1,707 average monthly rent x 12 gives $226,064,312 ST1. That is 46.93% of filed underwritten revenues of $481,725,392, but neither figure is cash collected. The product ignores arrears, concessions, when vacancies occurred, retail, parking and other income, and the split between regulated and market units. An average rent also cannot say which apartments are legally deregulated: that is a unit-by-unit legal status, so the 2006 count is UNKNOWN here. The buyer announcement counts 11,232 units ST2; the filing counts 11,227 ST1. They are not mixed.
The human stake
These are about 11,227 homes by the filing's count ST1. The underwriting case depends on 6,397 apartments being deregulated by January 1, 2011 ST1, so the same variable that lifts the debt ratio also shapes whether residents keep regulated rents and tenure security. The documents here do not show how residents experienced that period, and this page does not assign blame to any party or treat any later legal outcome as foreseeable from these filings.
Unanswered questions
| Field | Value | Why |
|---|---|---|
| refinance gap usd | UNKNOWN | No lender offer, payoff amount or exact 2010 cash is in the inputs. |
| lender refinance offer | UNKNOWN | Not disclosed in the inputs. |
| payoff amount usd | UNKNOWN | Not disclosed in the inputs. |
| exact 2010 cash usd | UNKNOWN | Not disclosed in the inputs. |
| complete operating ledger | UNKNOWN | Only annual NOI totals are filed. |
| actual collections usd | UNKNOWN | Not disclosed in the inputs. |
| all in debt service coverage x | UNKNOWN | Mezzanine terms beyond principal and rate, reserves and fees are not disclosed here. |
| mezzanine coverage x | UNKNOWN | Mezzanine payment terms, tranches and reserves are not in the inputs. |
| filed dscr reconciliation | UNKNOWN | The filing's DSCR method is not fully disclosed in this extract. |
| legally deregulated units 2006 | UNKNOWN | Only a projected 2011 count is filed; legal status is unit by unit. |
The refinance gap is UNKNOWN: the senior interest shortfall above is an operating comparison, not a refinancing amount.
Dated timeline
- 2004 to 2006: filed annual NOI, observed ST1
- November 17, 2006: senior mortgage originated, 120 months interest only ST1
- 2006-11-20: purchase announced at $5,400,000,000 ST2
- 2007-03-09: prospectus filed; this room is frozen here ST1
- January 1, 2011: underwriting cash-flow year 2011 begins, forecast only ST1
Input and source ledger
| Input | Value | Unit | Filed text | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| units filed | 11,227 | units | Size (Units) 11,227 | ST1 |
| occupancy pct | 98.3 | percent | Percentage Physical Occupancy as of November 2006 98.3% | ST1 |
| appraisal as is usd | 5,400,000,000 | USD | Appraisal Value (As-Is) as of November 1, 2006 $5,400,000,000 | ST1 |
| appraisal as stabilized usd | 6,900,000,000 | USD | Appraisal Value (As-Stabilized) as of January 1, 2011 $6,900,000,000 | ST1 |
| average monthly rent usd | 1,707 | USD per unit per month | Average Monthly Rent Per Unit $1,707 | ST1 |
| uw revenues usd | 481,725,392 | USD per year | Underwritten Revenues $481,725,392 | ST1 |
| uw expenses usd | 145,569,012 | USD per year | Underwritten Total Expenses $145,569,012 | ST1 |
| uw noi usd | 336,156,380 | USD per year | Underwritten Net Operating Income (NOI) $336,156,380 | ST1 |
| noi 2006 usd | 112,242,474 | USD per year | 2006 NOI $112,242,474 | ST1 |
| noi 2005 usd | 98,862,497 | USD per year | 2005 NOI $98,862,497 | ST1 |
| noi 2004 usd | 92,102,906 | USD per year | 2004 NOI $92,102,906 | ST1 |
| origination date | November 17, 2006 | date | Origination Date November 17, 2006 | ST1 |
| trust share senior usd | 800,000,000 | USD | Cut-off Date Principal Balance $800,000,000 | ST1 |
| senior coupon pct | 6.4340 | percent per year | Mortgage Rate 6.4340% | ST1 |
| amortization type | Interest Only | text | Amortization Type Interest Only | ST1 |
| io period months | 120 | months | IO Period (Months) 120 | ST1 |
| term months | 120 | months | Original Term to Maturity (Months) 120 | ST1 |
| filed uw dscr x | 1.71 | times | Underwritten DSCR on NOI 1.71x | ST1 |
| whole senior mortgage usd | 3,000,000,000 | USD | originated in the amount of $3,000,000,000 of which $800,000,000 is included in the trust | ST1 |
| uw cash flow year | 2,011 | year | rely on cash flows for 2011 | ST1 |
| projected deregulated units | 6,397 | units | resulting in 6,397 deregulated units by January 1, 2011 | ST1 |
| mezzanine principal usd | 1,400,000,000 | USD | Original mezzanine loan amount $1,400,000,000, interest rate 6.277% | ST1 |
| mezzanine rate pct | 6.277 | percent per year | Original mezzanine loan amount $1,400,000,000, interest rate 6.277% | ST1 |
| transaction price usd | 5,400,000,000 | USD | acquisition price was $5.4 billion | ST2 |
| units announced | 11,232 | units | counts 11,232 apartment units | ST2 |
Dated assumptions
- A1 (dated November 17, 2006) Senior annual interest = whole senior mortgage principal x filed Mortgage Rate, a simple annual coupon. Interest only for the full term, so no amortization. Day-count convention not stated in this extract. ST1
- A2 (dated 2007-03-09) Historical NOI rows are the filed 2004, 2005 and 2006 figures as printed; they are a filed offering document, not audited collections. ST1
- A3 (dated 2007-03-09) Underwritten NOI is a forecast for cash-flow year 2011 per footnote (2); compounding runs over 5 annual periods from 2006 to 2011. ST1
- A4 (dated 2006-11-20) Transaction price = $5.4 billion from the buyer adviser announcement; it is used as the NOI denominator. The as-is appraisal of the same amount is a separate filed figure. ST2
- A5 (dated 2007-03-09) Unit counts differ (filed collateral 11,227 vs announced 11,232); per-unit figures are not computed from a mixed denominator. ST1 ST2
Sources
- ST1 ML-CFC Commercial Mortgage Trust 2007-5 final prospectus, published 2007-03-09; section: Annex C Peter Cooper Village and Stuyvesant Town property and mortgage loan information and footnotes; role: contemporaneous.
- ST2 Buyer adviser acquisition announcement, published 2006-11-20; section: opening two paragraphs; role: contemporaneous.